What If Economics Is All About Personal Satisfaction?

Hello

I found this quote in my inbox this morning:

“Every bit of it is about economics. Every bit of it, without exception. Everything about religion is about economics. Everything about politics is about economics. And everything about economics is personal satisfaction. Everyone is personally motivated to do the best that they can possibly do for themselves.”

Excerpted from an Abraham workshop in Boulder, CO on Saturday, June 12th, 2004

What if economics is actually about personal satisfaction? What if the current economic crisis is about bringing more emphasis on personal satisfaction in our lives? So much of the existing economic model has been about making money for the sake of having money to pay the bills.

What about first finding something that satisfies us personally, that touches us deeply, that motivates us strongly, and then making it pay our bills? What a different way of looking at our relationship with money.

As the existing economic model is in the process of breaking down anyway, why not use it as an opportunity to find out what does bring us personal satisfaction? What do I love doing? What gets us out of bed in the morning, full of excitement and joy, AND pays our bills?

I was raised to focus on finding something that pays my bills, and then do what satisfies me as a hobby, or when I am old and retired. It never worked for me, let me tell you. I can only really get involved in something that pays my bills, if either I feel passionate about it, or if i can focus on something in it, that brings out my passion.

I am sure going for passion in my blog here. I have a passion for BIGGER perspectives (ask my friends…). I love writing about my passion. I love using the internet and all its opportunities to reach out and be seen. Now I get to share that passion with the rest of the world.

I am pretty good at trusting that my passion for that BIGGER Picture will eventually pay my bills. And if it doesn’t, at least I get to do what I love doing and feel good doing it.

~~~ Check out my website: A Good Dying ~~~

