Mary Landberg’s Poems: Fear Means Go

I just went to a reading (and 50th birthday celebration) of local poet Mary Landberg last night in Ashland, Oregon.

What a delightful surprise…

Mary and I have been part of the same dance community for years. We usually meet on the dance floor on Sunday mornings, smile at each other, watch each other dance very differently (Mary is a great Salsa dancer and I am not), and then go our separate ways.

Only recently did I find out that Mary is a hospice nurse, working with the dying just as I do as a caregiver. Now I found out that she is also a poet, just like I am.

The reading of her poems last night touched me.

They offered a balance between directly expressing authentic feelings and a freshness in her choice of words. I kept feeling surprised by the images that she evoked. Here is an example of her poetry:

He does not know what to do with his hands

I found this book of poems a beautifully crafted encouragement for those whose world is falling apart and needs rebuilding. She actually went through the foreclosure of her home last year and found so much more to live for on the other side of that challenging experience

Mary has found her way through these challenges and I see her standing taller (and more joyfully) through all of it.

Check out her website if you want to purchase her book and read more about it:

http://www.marylandberg.com

There are more samples of her poetry, both in written form and as audio samples. The book is illustrated with beautiful black and white photographs.

And by the way, a portion of the proceeds from the book and the CD (with all of the poems read by Mary) will go be donated to agencies that support women through times of difficult transitions.

What a gem of a book!

~~~ Check out my new website: A Good Dying ~~~

2 thoughts on “Mary Landberg’s Poems: Fear Means Go

Comments are closed.