William Kamkwamba’s creative genius

I just love watching these young people come into this world today full of simple solution and a bag full of skills way beyond what education and experience should have given them.

~~~~~

William Kamkwamba (born August 5, 1987) is a Malawian inventor and author. He gained fame in his country when, in 2002, he built a windmill to power a few electrical appliances in his family’s house in Masitala using blue gum trees, bicycle parts, and materials collected in a local scrapyard. Since then, he has built a solar-powered water pump that supplies the first drinking water in his village and two other windmills (the tallest standing at 39 feet) and is planning two more, including one in Lilongwe, the political capital of Malawi (quoted from www.wikipedia.org ).

Below is a video of his book:  “The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind”:

And a comment by Jocelyn Layla Duncan, that describes pretty much what I feel about this guy:

I freaking love this guy. This reading this man’s book has made me rethink the way I completely waste all the resoucres and opportunities given to me as an American. The last time I used google I was looking up Aerosmith gossip and he built a working windmill with a library book in a non-native tongue, an 8th grade education, and a junkyard. I used to think of myself as being lower class but then I realize how much I have and how little of it I use. Thank you Mr. Kamkwamba. Your story has inspire me to go out into the world grab it by the short hairs and try to make it a better place.

Here is William’s blog: http://williamkamkwamba.typepad.com/

~~~~~

